Scroll to bottom
  • Q
Home Page

Star of the Sea RC Primary School

A place where we Love, Pray, Learn and Grow

Meet the Governors

Welcome to our Governors’ section.


                                   Star of The Sea Board of Governors



We are fortunate to benefit from the active involvement of a Governing Body representing our school, our parents, the parish and our LEA. They meet regularly to support and challenge the Headteacher and staff to ensure that the high standards associated with and expected at Star of the Sea are maintained and that we offer our pupils an excellent education.

The Chairperson for our governing body is Mrs J Brachtvogel who can be contacted in writing via our school Star of the Sea Primary School, Seatonville Road, Monkseaton,Whitley Bay NE25 9EG.


Our governing body meet as a full body termly equating to three meetings annually.

We have a Staffing, Finance and Premises (F) , which incorporates the Finance, Staffing, Health and Safety and Premises.

We have a Curriculum Committee (C) which incorporates the curriculum pupil progress and communications.

We have a SEND Committee (S), which is for special needs.

We have a Performance Management Committee (PM), who also conduct a pay review.

We have an Admissions Committee (AO) Which is for school admissions.


If you would like to contact any of our governors please contact the office in the first instance.


Governor Category Appointed by Term of Office Date Stepped Down Attendance at full governing body meetings Attendance at other Committee Meetings Governance role in other educational establishment Any personal relationships with staff members in school or within governance structure Business & Pecuniary Interest Indirect Interests
Mr J Hannah Headteacher   n/a   0/1       None Declared None Declared
Mrs J Brachtvogel Chair Foundation Body 1/9/16 - 30/8/20   1/1       None Declared None Declared
Mgr A Faley Vice Chair Foundation Body 7/10/17 - 8/10/21   1/1       None Declared
Mrs D Campbell Foundation Foundation Body 1/9/16 - 30/8/20   1/1     None Declared None Declared None Declared
Mrs H Jobe Foundation Foundation Body 1/9/16 - 30/8/20   1/1 1/1 pm     None Declared None Declared
Mr M Hughes Foundation Foundation Body 1/9/16 - 30/8/20   1/1     Married to Mrs J Hughes Teaching Assistant None Declared None Declared
Deacon T McGann Foundation Foundation Body     1/1       None Declared None Declared
Mr P Harris Parent Elected 21/3/17 - 20/3/21   0/1   Governor at Carr Hill Primary School   None Declared None Declared
Mrs A McAnulty Parent Elected 21/3/17 - 20/3/21   1/1       None Declared None Declared
Mrs C Jewitt Local Authority Governing Body 13/3/17 - 12/3/21   1/1       None Declared None Declared
Mr D Thompson Staff Elected 1/9/16 - 30/8/20   1/1 1/1     None Declared None Declared


+++++Absence Line 0191 643 2081+++++Year 2 Christmas Play - THURSDAY 13th December at 2:00pm+++++Year 3 and Year 4 Christmas Play - Friday 14th December at 9:15am+++++Nursery, Reception and KS1 Christmas Party Day is FRIDAY 14th December+++++Years 3 and 4 Christmas Party Day is MONDAY 17th December+++++Years 5 and 6 Christmas Party Day is TUESDAY 18th December+++++Dates and times of Christmas events can be found in or News and Events section+++++Christmas Jumper day - Friday 21st December. Money for Save the Children.+++++Children need to stay away from school for 48 hours after their last bout of sickness and/or diarrhoea. Thank you+++++
  • Overall Winner
  • Congratulations Year 4 - Mrs Keane and Miss Wright 97.9%